It’ll Be Off


Great Motivational Speeches from History
July 30, 2008, 6:47 am
Filed under: News | Tags:

At number 3, the Virgin Queen, laying it down to the masses at Tilbury Fort, with the Spanish Armada’s invasion imminent:

My loving people, we have been persuaded by some, that are careful of our safety, to take heed how we commit ourselves to armed multitudes, for fear of treachery; but I assure you, I do not desire to live to distrust my faithful and loving people.
Let tyrants fear; I have always so behaved myself that, under God, I have placed my chiefest strength and safeguard in the loyal hearts and good will of my subjects. And therefore I am come amongst you at this time, not as for my recreation or sport, but being resolved, in the midst and heat of the battle, to live or die amongst you all; to lay down, for my God, and for my kingdom, and for my people, my honour and my blood, even the dust.
I know I have but the body of a weak and feeble woman; but I have the heart of a king, and of a king of England, too; and think foul scorn that Parma or Spain, or any prince of Europe, should dare to invade the borders of my realms: to which, rather than any dishonour should grow by me, I myself will take up arms; I myself will be your general, judge, and rewarder of every one of your virtues in the field.
I know already, by your forwardness, that you have deserved rewards and crowns; and we do assure you, on the word of a prince, they shall be duly paid you. In the mean my lieutenant general shall be in my stead, than whom never prince commanded a more noble and worthy subject; not doubting by your obedience to my general, by your concord in the camp, and by your valour in the field, we shall shortly have a famous victory over the enemies of my God, of my kingdom, and of my people.

At Number 2, (extracts of) The D-Day order speech, given by Dwight Eisenhower:

You will bring about the destruction of the German war machine, the elimination of Nazi tyranny over the oppressed peoples of Europe, and security for ourselves in a free world.

Your task will not be an easy one. Your enemy is well trained, well equipped, and battle-hardened. He will fight savagely.

But this is the year 1944. Much has happened since the Nazi triumphs of 1940-41.

The United Nations have inflicted upon the Germans great defeat in open battle man to man. Our air offensive has seriously reduced their strength in the air and their capacity to wage war on the ground.

Our home fronts have given us an overwhelming superiority in weapons and munitions of war and placed at our disposal great reserves of trained fighting men.

The tide has turned.

The free men of the world are marching together to victory. I have full confidence in your courage, devotion to duty, and skill in battle.

We will accept nothing less than full victory.

Good luck, and let us all beseech the blessings of Almighty God upon this great and noble undertaking.

And the clenched fist, pumping the air winner: Karl Marginson’s ‘I was on holiday, but now I’m back’ address to the FCUM nation, via fc-utd.com:

Greetings to all FC United supporters. I’m back from my holiday, well rested and looking forward to the upcoming season. Hopefully you all are too. I took my holidays as early as possible, but with a young family I had to do it during the school break and therefore missed our last two pre-season matches.

Pre-season is about blowing off the cobwebs and giving trials to some prospective new players so we have arranged our pre-season campaign a bit differently this year, playing sides that are higher up the pyramid means we can really test the players on trial at the club.

Teams such as Altrincham and Kettering are bound to have better quality players than we will face in the Unibond Premier next season but with players on holiday and injuries to Jerome and Rob Nugent we have also been a little disjointed. Although we have lost three games so far I remain confident about our prospects this season.

We’ve been doing a lot of work on fitness in our pre-season training and the lack of ball work at this early stage can sometimes be evident. However we feel that the hard work done so far this summer will prove worthwhile as the season progresses.

Now though training will become football based and we’ll start to work harder on getting quality sorted and focussing on our shape and ball work. This will hopefully show through as we begin to play against teams at our level over the next couple of weeks.

I’m very pleased with the new signings: Tunji Moses will add some bite to our midfield, and Dave Neville will prove a big asset to the club. Carlos and Kyle are both quality players and Adam Turner will have a big part to play when he comes back from holiday.

James Brackenridge has done well and will have a part to play once his fitness has returned. He has not played for a year so will need some time to get back in the swing of things again.

Overall though I’m confident that we can do well in this league, and can’t wait for the first match on August 16th at Gigg Lane. See you all there

In Margy we trust, and all that.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

