It’ll Be Off


The Weekly Web Weview
June 30, 2008, 3:28 pm
Filed under: News | Tags: , ,

Did BobBlackburn Park Avenue boss Dave Cameron let slip a little glimpse of how BPA are run in the Bradford Telegraph and Argus this week? Talking about the players who have left their club, Cameron said of Griff Jones “He [Blackburn] wanted to keep him and even give him a raise because he had done well on loan at Radcliffe. I hadn’t seen him play enough and told him I didn’t want him. I had to be firm but I prevailed on that one. Bob said it was my final decision.”

Interesting stuff. The chief exec dictating the buying policy? Dabbling in the manager’s affairs? Handing out wage rises willy-nilly? Recipe for disaster.

Griff Jones, by the way, was linked with FC United by Bob Blackburn a few weeks ago. No news on that, but according to the forum, fellow former BPA striker Paul Gedman could be another potential signing. Gedman lives in Manchester and scored against us twice last season.

Meanwhile, Rory Patterson has got off to a flyer on BPA’s preseason tour. Though some of the opposition (Russian/Bulgaria XI?) is questionable. Is it a little soon to be starting preseason? I dunno.

Finally, to round off a heavily BPA influenced WWW (don’t blame me, like I said the other day, it’s summer, it’s quiet time), the office have announced that we’re to play a friendly against Salford City at Moor Lane, on Wednesday 30 July, 19.45 kick off. It’ll be five quid in, two quid concessions.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment